If you find useful information here, your gift would help keep this site going. Our staff is entirely volunteer.

Photo
- - - - -

Wikipedia - editing the pages of the psychiatric medication

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 adrianctn

adrianctn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
  • LocationBucharest

Posted 18 December 2016 - 11:17 PM

Hello, 

I would like to gather the help of the community to modify the pages of all psychiatric medication on Wikipedia - to reflect what we know to be true: that these drugs are dangerous and have debilitating side effects. 

This is important because Wikipedia is used as a source of medical information by millions of people worldwide. 

I have started with the page on Prozac, with a minor edit. My edit is underlined. 

https://en.wikipedia...wiki/Fluoxetine

"Fluoxetine, also known by trade names Prozac and Sarafem among others, is an antidepressant of the selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor (SSRI) class.[1] It is used for the treatment of major depressive disorderobsessive–compulsive disorder (OCD), bulimia nervosapanic disorder, and premenstrual dysphoric disorder. It may decrease the risk of suicide in those over the age of 65, but significantly increases the risk of suicide overall, by causing severely altered mental states[5]. Fluoxetine has also been used to treat premature ejaculation, but it causes permanent impotence and sexual dysfunction in some individuals[6]. It is taken by mouth.[1]"

December 2015 One month Prozac at 10mg/day and every other day for MILD Anxiety ( What the hell??? No prior illness of any sort.)

Horrible side effects. Finally Cold Turkey.
May 2016 - Lamotrigine 0.5mg. Going up slowly. Sleep back to 8-9 hours normal (complete insomnia after Prozac).
June 2016 - 2 weeks 2.5mg Diazepam for Akathisia. Then lowered to 0.6mg/day.

Also Propranolol, Clonidine, occasional antihistamine, magnesium, B6 - for akathisia.