SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Larch: Hello, tapering from a month of Cymbalta

Larch

Hi everybody, my name is Larch. First, I'm really grateful that a site like this exists!

I have a question about Cymbalta, and possibly over-quick tapering.

Here's a timeline of my relationship with Cymbalta.

Late Nov 2016:

Started Cymbalta at 30mg along with 2mg Klonopin and 3mg Lunesta for mild depression

Dec 13:

Cymbalta upped to 60mg

Dec 22:

Belatedly googled about the stuff that Cymbalta can do to you, panicked and cold-turkeyed

Dec 24:

Dizziness, headaches. Took 30mg, took another 30mg 4 hours later. Was feeling mostly ok by 6 hours later.

Dec 25:

Woke feeling fine. Took 30mg. Feeling fine 10hrs later. Hoping to take 30mg daily.

From reading this forum and elsewhere, I understand that cutting my dose from 60mg to 30mg is not something one should do.

What I'm desperately wishing for is that the fact I was on 60mg for only 10 days will enable me to do this, starting my slow taper at 30mg instead of 60mg. Based on a 10% per month reduction, that would add more than half a year to my existing month of Cymbalta taking, something I expect would increase the difficulty of my 30>0 taper drastically.

So... was even 10 days on 60mg unforgivable?

since late November 2016:

Cymbalta 30mg, Klonopin 1mg, Lunesta 3mg, Belsomra 20mg 

6 Dec 16

Klonopin upped to 2mg

13 Dec 16

Cymbalta upped to 60mg

22-24 Dec 16

C/T craziness

Since 25 Dec 16

Cymbalta 30mg, Klonopin 1.5mg, Lunesta 3mg, Belsomra 20mg 

29 Dec 16

Lunesta taper started, 3mg>2.25mg

5 Jan 16

2.25mg>1.75mg

• Administrator

Welcome, Larch.

You seem to be okay at 30mg, it's entirely possible the decrease from 60mg for 10 days won't have any harmful effects.

You've been prescribed quite the cocktail for mild depression. Both Klonopin and Lunesta are truly addictive drugs.