If you find useful information here, your gift would help keep this site going. Our staff is entirely volunteer.

Photo

dav267: I need help: Duloxetine (Cymbalta) & Desvenlafaxine (Pristiq)

Cymbalta Duloxetine Alprazolam Pristiq Withdraw syndrome help

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 dav267

dav267

Getting started

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • LocationSpain

Posted 19 February 2017 - 04:32 PM

Hello everybody,

First of all, sorry for my poor English. I'll try to write short but correct sentences, so you can understand my case.

I'm 21 years old and currently I'm studying Medicine. In 2013 I started psychological treatment for social anxiety (only psychotherapy, without medication). I'm positive that this helped me a lot, but the psychologist thought that I wasn't improving fast enough, so he prescribed me Escitalopram 5 mg/day.

I didn't notice any improvement or adverse effect while taking this drug. The summer of 2014, before I started College, was the worst phase of my life. I didn't want to get out of my bedroom, and I only wanted to die. That fall, I visited a psychiatrist for the first time, and he prescribed me Desvenlafaxine 100 mg a day. This drug completely killed my mind. I felt numb, dizzy, emotionally flattened, I had severe memory problems...

When the College semester ended (I failed 3 subjects), I withdraw the drug with the help of the psychiatrist. Several months later, I felt better, but I had the feeling that the drug had left some type of "residual damage" in me...I wasn't the same person than I was one year ago, and the memory problems were there.