Erik: Seroquel Withdawal

Erik

Sorry to revive an old thread, but i recently weaned off of Seroquel and im just looking for a little guidance. My VA psych doctor, much like any other military or government psych doctor, probably has no clue what he is doing, but i'll give you my short story anyways.

Current Medications:

Celexa (Citalopram) - 60mg / 1x per day

Klonipin(Clonazepam) - .25mg / 2x per day

Trazodone - 100mg / 1x per day before bedtime

Bentyl (Dicyclomine HCl) - 20mg / 1x per day for IBS

I was recently medically discharged from the military for severe anxiety and depression and had to switch my health care to the VA (Veteran's Affairs). Upon meeting my new doctor he told me that i had gained a lot of weight and he wanted to take me off of Seroquel that i had been using for about 1 1/2 years. He weaned me off of the Seroquel in only 2 weeks, from 200mg to 0mg. After reading this post i can totally see that this was the wrong way to go about this. During the 2 weeks of weaning i felt extremely tired every day, more so than i did when i was taking the medication daily. Two days after completely dropping the medication (yesterday) i started to feel nervous, was crying for no reason, had stomach pains, diarrhea, etc. I was able to take a nap for about 4 hours and that made me feel a lot better. Also, i was able to sleep through the night due to the Clonazepam that i have been on and my newly prescribed Trazodone 100mg that is a replacement for the Seroquel.