dmcdlj: is there life after Lexapro?

dmcdlj

After a lifetime of normalsy , I was put on Lexapro by gyn because of grad school anxiety... I was in grad school - taking 3 classes and was a grad assistant teaching 3 classes and working.  Grad school was hard, even tho I am an A student.  Alot of my friends had graduated and left... and I was feeling tired, drained, anxious and a little depressed.  Never really had depression before.. pretty much lived a charmed life.  But, listened to the gyn I had - she said.. it's mild.. it will just take the ege off and you can concentrate better.  And, I did feel better.     Big mistake.  Anyway a year later, after I graduated I tried to come off. Same doctor said , take a pill , skip a day for 2 weeks.  Take a pill, skip two days for 2 weeks. etc.. until I was skipping 5 days between pills, then stop.  Brain shocks, naseau, bad moods - anger like I've NEVER felt... during the whole taper down time.  After a near breakdown 2 months later, I saw a real doctor and found out that type of tapering is almost like going cold turkey, over and over. I went into a depression like I've NEVER experienced. Had to quit my job. Was totally unfunctional. Would cry 6-8 hours a day. I didn't know what was happening.  I'd never gone through anything like that.  New doctor put me back on the meds and in 2 weeks I was better.      So, I'm wanting to come off this again and VERY worried about withdrawals and having to go through all of that again.  I've seen on here that many have done a 1% tapering with liquid meds and that is what I want to do.  My question is - how were you after you totally quit?   I do not want to be on any drugs.   I don't think I need them now.  I never had issues when I was was younger and I totally regret having gone on this medicine in the first place.   but, now my body and my brain can't function without it.  Someone should start a class action lawsuit against this company!