SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Dee80: Weaning from Paxil

Dee80

Hi all, I have been checking out this website for a long time but have never posted before. I have been on Paxil for 12 years at a dose of 20 mg. After a failed attempt at stopping the drug in 2012 and thankfully finding this site, I have been reducing slowly for nearly 5 years. I have been reducing using 10% drops every 6-8 weeks. However, there have been times when I have struggled and stayed at a dose for longer periods. I am now at a dose of 0.8 mg. I could really use some advice as I have been really struggling ever since I have dropped below 1.2 mg. My symptoms are sll purely physical and I can't seem to find any 'windows'. I can't help but wonder if I should just stop taking the drugs. Maybe I am experiencing side effects rather than withdrawal at this stage. Has anyone experienced real trouble at such low doses? Thanks for any advice!

Edited by scallywag
tags

Began Paxil in 2004 at 20 mg

Attempted to stop Paxil in 2012 but had to reinstate within 2 months

Began correct reductions of 10% in 2012 and have been reducing since then

March 2017 0.8 mg

October 2017 0.4mg 

March 2018 0.5 mg

Worked slowly up to 3.2 mg by May 2019 

January 2021 still at 3.2 mg 

• Moderator Emeritus

Hi Dee and welcome to SA (finally!),

I'm really pleased to see that you have been tapering and holding as recommended by SA.

1.  Would you be able to post the tapering information for the last year?  Date and dose please.

2.  Are you tapering 10% of the previous dose or of the starting dose?

3.  Are you taking your Paxil at about the same time daily, or are you skipping days?

4.  Are you achieving accurate doses?

5.  What side effects did you experience when taking 20mg?

6.  What symptoms have you previously had during your taper?

7.  What symptoms are you currently experiencing?