SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Moderator note:  Link to Quest's benzo thread - Quest - benzo thread

Guess I will start by saying hi and letting you all know that this site gives me some much needed hope.  I have been fighting this effexor xr battle now for 11 years.  Was put on 37.5 mgs of Effexor in May of 2006 and the 75 mgs 3 weeks later for extreme anxiety which they labeled GAD.  A month later zoplicone 3.75 mgs to sleep.  Never took drugs before other than an antibiotic, so man oh man this was rough on me.  Took 4 months to function on them while trying to raise a 10, 8 and 3 year old.  

Over the years tried at least 4 or 5 times to wean off by typical drs. Orders which always resulted in a crash 2-3 months later.  I have always exercised, eat healthy, acupuncture, various healing modalities viatimins- you name it trying to be strong enough to stay off these drugs.  It wasn't until last year that I even heard about paws, it certainly is not something any of my drs. Believe exists.  They continuously tell me to stop trying to come off, I have a chemical imbalance and I will be on some form of anti depressant for a lifetime!  

I can not accept this mentality.  Yes in the beginning Effexor helped to calm my anxiety but it is no longer doing so and I just don't think adding another drug or two into the mix will help either.  Zoplicone is another problem for me.  Thank the Lord I never went past a 7.5 tablet.  What a horrendous drug to come off. I just recently took 3.75 mgs to sleep again, ( how defeating after being off for 5 months!) but my drs. Other options were seroquel or remeron or elavil.