SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Is anybody familiar with Tegretol and tapering etc.?

waverunner

Hi, I am posting on behalf of a friend and I want to know if anyone is familiar with the drug Tegretol.

Here are my questions:

a)if they've experienced side effects from it? If they have please list them.

b)if they tapered while on other meds and did it interfere through added physical or emotional symptoms being combined with the other medications.

c)is it a long taper like most or many medications, and have any here come off completely and are feeling good?

I really appreciate any information you can supply regarding Tegretol.

Thankyou so much.

• Administrator

Hi, waverunner. Welcome to SurvivingAntidepressants.

I have very little experience with Tegretol, but like all psychiatric drugs, one needs to taper off it, with the rate of the taper tailored to the individual. Start slow with a 10% reduction each month for 2 months, and if it's easy, you can go a little faster to get off the drug.

Withdrawal from any of these medications is a crap shoot. Most people do fine, some people have more severe withdrawal symptoms -- which is why we recommend going slow in tapering, to reduce the risk of severe withdrawal symptoms.

People with direct experience with Tegretol, chime in here!

This is not medical advice. Discuss any decisions about your medical care with a knowledgeable medical practitioner.

"It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has surpassed our humanity." -- Albert Einstein

All postings © copyrighted.

• 2 weeks later...

Tegretol (carbamazepine) is an old anticonvulsant so ~hopefully~there is more info on long term use and how to discontinue •

If it is being used for seizures please consult a neurologist to prevent breakthrough seizures which could be very dangerous especially if driving