SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

Themadwomanintheattik: My story on Zoloft

Themadwomanintheattik

This post is more of a description of the past 13 years of my life on Zoloft. I want to preface this post by saying that I am in no way unique, nor is my situation. There are tons of people that find themselves in my situation or one similar to it and I only post this for educational purposes in the hope that it can help someone.

My background information with Zoloft: If you don’t care about my background information and just want to get to the good stuff, scroll down.

I started taking Zoloft when I was 19 years old. I was a student at Yale, studying nursing. I drank a lot of coffee at the time and was also taking Xenadrine (a weight loss pill) at the time to give myself energy to exercise and also the energy to stay up late to study. I had no prior health problems, or mental issues other than worrying a lot about performance in school and the occasional arguments that I would have with my boyfriend at the time. I was always a worrier, a bit obsessive compulsive, with an average amount of insecurity. I didn’t do drugs, however, I did try marijuana once or twice at the time which I found I didn’t like because it made me feel paranoid and just chose that pot would not be my thing.