ZK2015

6 months off Paxil/Prozac

ZK2015

Hi,

I started this topic a while ago

and it has been 6 months now since my last dose of Prozac, so I'd like to share the way I used to taper so may be someone out there benefit from it, However I'd like to point out that I'm not a doctor and that this worked for me merely through trial and error, so here we go.

As I mentioned in my first topic my first tapering attempt was too fast that I had awful withdrawal symptoms and had to reinstate, and the 10% approach was too slow for me as I was able to make larger drops without much symptoms, I then found the following research paper here on the forums:

It's a paper on the percentage of serotonin transporter occupancy of Prozac (and other SSRIs) in the brain, in other words it basically measures the amount of serotonin receptors in the brain blocked by the medication, at 20mg most SSRIs will block 75%-85% of these receptors.

After going through the paper I found that the percentage for Prozac occupancy follows the following equation:

Occupancy% = 86*dose/(1.94+dose)

So for example, if you take 20mg Prozac, the approximate occupancy% = 86*20/(1.944+20) = 78%, and so on.

What I did next was finding the maximum percentage I can go down without suffering too much withdrawal symptoms, and with some trial and error I found this percentage to be 8%, meaning if I'm currently at 78% I can go down to 70% without much withdrawal symptoms, any higher and the symptoms are unbearable.