SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

ShannonP: introduction

ShannonP

Hi. I'm ShannonP, and this is my first time here. I guess I'm really just trying to wrap my head around what is going on and what to do about it, and I'm very overwhelmed by it all.  I have been on the 2nd to lowest dosage there is of venlafaxine xr (75mg) , and only once a day at that, for several years.  My doctor reduced my dosage to 37.5 mg 4 days ago.  I know there are horror stories about Effexor, but I thought that my dose was so small that I wouldn't be very sick.  I thought that if that wasn't the case, my doctor would have said something, or at least recommended some kind of taper.  I also assumed that if I had any problems at all, they would just be physical symptoms - nausea, headaches, appetite change maybe; that sort of thing. I NEVER imagined I would be an absolute basket case, felling like I am completely losing my mind, SCREAMING at my whole family because the dog got mud on her paws when she went out to use the bathroom (how does that even matter???!!!!!!), crying unconsolably for hours over all the hopeless issues in my life that didn't even exist last week but now are so all-consuming that I have even thought about dying to end it all, and all of that in addition to being so sick I have been living in my bathroom for days now. 

They told me to go back to 75mg on my next dose, and alternate between the 2 strengths, but I see this site says that's a bad idea.  I found this site while searching for some kind of evidence out there that I'm not going crazy, and that there is some kind of hope for this, and especially to find out what on earth to even do.  I desperately need some kind of idea of how long these kind of symptoms might last. 

I meant to just introduce myself in this post, but this is apparently what I typed.  I don't even feel like I am in any control over my own mind, or, in this case, fingers either, I guess.