Fasting

BentBuddha

Intermittent fasting to grow new neurons?

I'm currently studying (and just begun practicing) Intermittent Fasting (IF) in an effort to heal my brain. Just so ppl know, I eat 3meals every day, so I don't restrict my calories or amount of food. What I do, is I stop eating at 3pm, drink nothing but water until 3pm the next day, and then I eat 3 meals before bed time that night.

In your article, it mentions the downregulation of serotonin receptors. I find this facinating how the meds do that.

I know that one of the benefits of Intermittent Fasting is increase of "brain derived neurotrophic factor" (BDNF) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brain-derived_neurotrophic_factor

which creates new nerves and symapses in the brain. After some more research I found an article about a study they did on obese rats using IF. Turns out obese rats have less dopamine receptors than lean rats. The cause being that the rats set off pleasure signals so much that the brain downregulates the dopamine receptors. This appears to be a similar process that happens when we take these meds, except (depending which med you're on) they down regulate the serotonin receptors. So, in this study, they found that using IF on the rats caused upturn in domapine receptors. The fasted state is a little unpleasant and stressful state (24hr fasts are mild) - the exact opposite of pleasure. So the brain creates new dopamine receptors so that pleasure can be experienced from less. I find that fascinating. We can actually experience more pleasure in life, through this deliberate and regular brief abstinence from it. (This could explain why kids who have computer games and junk food are easily 'bored'). It's my belief that those who lose weight with intermittent fasting do so not only because of caloric restriction (if they eat less), but because they are more easily pleased by food so don't need to eat as much.