G'mornin' Sunshine - Trinity

Trinity

Hi all,

I'm Trinity. I'm 55, bipolar (rapid cycling and depressed) and trying to get off my meds. Over the last three years I've gotten off Effexor and 1/2 my Bupropion dose. Currently I'm on 200mg of Bupropion XR and 200 mg Lamotrigine (generic of Lamictal). I'm on a slow taper to get off the Lamotrigine. Started with a 50mg drop about a month ago. My withdrawal symptoms are still here. I've got a seriously weird 'headache' which feels like I've got lead in my head, eyeaches, body aches and rage. I'm a designer and this has really affected my ability to concentrate on my work. In fact I'm going off the Lamotrigine precisely because I can't concentrate on creative problem solving. My design skills, ability to earn a living and my sex life have all taken a tumble since I've been on this stuff--now about 8 years. After being medicated since the 70s, I want to try to live drug free, especially since I found out that Lamotrigine is ineffective for treating bipolar rapid cycling and depression. I'm angry that Glaxo has me strung out on this stuff, but I'm going to preserver and muscle through the next year or so to get off this stuff.

Has anyone else here tried to get off Lamotrigine/Lamictal?

--Trinity

Hello, Trinity! We're glad you've found this forum. :) I'm sure someone will soon chime in. Meanwhile, if possible, please put your drugs history in the signature - this way it will be easier for the folks to offer you help and advice.

2000-2008 Paxil for a situational depression

2008 - Paxil c/t

Severe protracted WD syndrome ever since; improving

“The only reason for time is so that everything doesn't happen at once”

Albert Einstein

"Add signature to your profile. This way we can help you even better!"

Surviving Antidepressants ;)

And, above all, ... keep walking. Just keep walking.

• Administrator

Welcome, Trinity.

Did you withdraw from the Effexor without a problem? What was your taper like?