What if you're not religious?

cmusic

Hello -

I'm a newbie to this site, but not to psych meds. After a decade and three years of hell I've decided to try and get off drugs once and for all. As everyone here knows - and I think someone called it neuro-emotion - when you're in the throes of it you don't see so clearly. You break down and question everything. And at those times I have found that people who can turn to faith have an incredible amount of strength.

I've never been religious, and I'm lukewarm on organized religion, but I firmly believe that people need to have a belief system of some kind that incorporates ideas of purpose, meaning, and a love for life. Unfortunately, I haven't figured out a set of ideas that I can honestly believe and turn to when I'm struggling.

I have wonderful kids and family and it keeps me going, but I thought I would throw the question out there - what do others think about to keep them going through tough times? What ideas give people comfort and help them to see that their depressed thoughts are just thoughts and not truths?

Started on Zoloft in 2002
Switched to Lexapro in 2005
Switched to Prozac in 2008
Off Prozac abruptly in 2010 (a mistake) - crashed
Lexapro end of 2010 - didn't work
Effexor until 2012 - roller coaster from hell
Back to Prozac November 2012 - one last rise and fall
Quit Prozac 01/13

Reinstated Prozac 5mg 05/13
Trial of 7.5 Remeron for one month 06/13, then off

Off Lamictal 06/13

Quit benzos 06/13

Reduced to 4mg Prozac 8/15/13

IMO, one needn't be a believer to be religious. Additionally one doesn't need a religion to be a believer.

I am thinking of joining a Christian church, but one where belief in the Bible isn't that important. There are a lot of churches like this around me, but I live in a liberal city.

Helping others is a great way to feel valuable.

"Well my ship's been split to splinters and it's sinking fast
I'm drowning in the poison, got no future, got no past