SurvivingAntidepressants.org is temporarily closed to new registrations until 1 April ×

tiggertoo: 13+ years on Effexor XR. One dose left...

tiggertoo

Hi all...

I have been taking Effexor XR (or venlafaxine, hallelujah for generics) for at least 13 years after unsuccessfully taking celexa and then wellbutrin.

I've been considering tapering off for several months but due to some stresses I currently have going on, had decided to wait.  I saw my provider Monday to get a new prescription, as my current one has no refills.  There was some confusion...I left thinking she submitted the 'script to the pharmacy electronically.  When it wasn't there Wednesday, I left a message for her assistant.  They ask to allow 48 hours for all calls.  Silly me, I forgot neither my provider or her assistant work Fridays.  I called the practice this morning and was told there isn't a prescription in my file and I'll need to wait to speak to the assistant Monday.

I have one regular dose of venlafaxine in my possession... three 75mg capsules...225mg total.

I don't know whether to go to urgent care and see if they will write me a 'script, take my regular dose tonight and fight through to Monday evening, or take 75 mg tonight and then Sat night and then Sun night.  And if I fight through, should I go ahead and begin taper even though I had decided to delay?

I'm not looking forward to the next three days and I'm thinking I need a new provider.  Any survival tips or good vibes are very much appreciaed.

I would call them back and say you would be okay with just enough medicine until you can next call the dr. Maybe go to the office in person. If that doesn't work, call dr. On call at 5, asking for just enough for the weekend. Then, urgent care if nec. Effexor might be the very last AD you would like to wait out. Good luck!