sky68

Problems with interacting with family after recovery from depression

sky68

hi,

In my life I was brought up in a 'unhealthy' family. My parents were never there for my siblings and me. Long story short, I was raised to keep my mouth shut and not to express myself. You may call it mentally abusing if you like.

This formed my personality. Not in a positive way. At some point, 6 years ago, I was dragged into a deep very deep depression. I am sure my 'keep my mouth shut' personality contributed a lot to this.

But ever since then I gradually learned, with the help of a psychologist, to be more mild to myself. And to set limits for myself. It has been a long process and I am still learning and 'practicing'. I find that's changed me. Now I can express myself easier.

But here lies the problem as well. There are quite a few unsolved issues related to my family and relatives. Now I dare to speak out what's bothering me, including all the pain that I've been through ever since my early youth until now.

This is not something my family is used to. They don't know me this way. The result: they don't respond to me. Cause they don't know how to interact in a mature way I guess.

Some problems I've gone through (including some unsolved issues since my childhood, especially when it comes to my feeling of being mentally ignored by both my parents) now have resulted in huge family problems. How does my family react: they cannot discuss it with me, since they have never learned how to themselves.

So I made the decision to take a step back. No more contact with these family members. To be more precise, two of my siblings (I have 3) my mother and an aunt. My father died a few years ago, he was the biggest problem in my whole life but now he's gone, that problem solved ;-)

In the coarse of time I also lost some so called friends.

It seems as though they make a pack against me. Cause they dont know how to communicate. It's a sick family.